carks

The door of no return

Posted on: January 5, 2012

A few days ago we went on a hike to Cerro de Oro. First we had to take a kind of boat called a lancha from Panajachel to Santiago, which took a half an hour. When we got there we had to walk up past the market until me and my teacher saw a pick-up truck and my sister’s teacher asked the driver if he could take us to the place on the volcano where we were going to hike. There was no space in the front of the pick-up, so we had to ride in the back, standing up, and it was crowded.

It wasn’t a real volcano all by itself, but it was on the side of big volcano, Volcan Toliman, and it was called Cerro de Oro, which looks like an elephant but its name means “small mountain of gold.” We didn’t find any gold there, but we did see a rock formation in the shape of a monkey that was all black from where people built fires on it because of ceremonies they had there.

I found a tooth there, on the ground, it was a little bloody at the end and it was sort of white but it was mostly dirty. I don’t know what it was from, I was too scared to pick it up, and I just left it there.

We saw two iguanas, one had silver-blue scales on its neck, and the other was purple. They were bigger than my shoe and they were hanging out behind a rock together. People here eat iguanas, they sell them in the market on Sundays.

We saw the land below, and the lake, and flowers, and a cave. There’s supposed to be a door, where the people here hid their gold when the Spanish were looking for it. They say that if you go in the door now, you never come back out. We didn’t see the door. If we go back and find the door, I’m going to bring a jetpack, and some rope, and some armor, and some Ninja stuff so I can go in and take care of whatever it is that’s keeping people.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.